AIPPI Essay Prize 2021

About the competition
The AIPPI Essay Prize is intended to encourage the art of essay writing on Intellectual Property and related topics. It was first launched in 2020.

The 2021 competition was open to AIPPI members and students of IP and involved writing a 2,500 – 3,000 word essay or filming a video on a certain IP-related topic.


This year’s winner

During the Grand Finale at the 2021 AIPPI World Congress Online, the AIPPI President, Luiz Henrique do Amaral announced Barbara Bruni (USA) as the winner of the AIPPI competition for her essay on Moral Rights and the Spirit of Creativity: A Comparison Between Common Law and Civil Law Through Photographic Works. Her essay provides a comparison between US, Italian and German law on copyright on photography. The comparison between several laws is the DNA of AIPPI.

In addition to enjoying free registration at the Congress, Barbara received a certificate to mark her achievement. Her essay will also be published on this page post-Congress.

No other prizes were awarded by the 2021 judging panel, all members of AIPPI Committees who are selected by the respective AIPPI Committee Chairperson.

Congratulations to Barbara and thank you to everyone who took the time to enter.