Standing Committee

Hague Conference on Private International Law

Conférence de La Haye de Droit International Privé

Haager Konferenz betreffend Internationales Privatrecht

Q153 Status: Dissolved Meeting:
  • Main Task:

    Drafting one or more Resolutions and/or Position Papers containing the position of AIPPI vis-à-vis article 12(4) of the draft Hague Convention on jurisdiction and the recognition and reforcement of foreign judgments in civil and commercial matters.

  • Monitoring:

    - All further pertinent (non-confidential) developments of the work of the official “Special Commission” on this draft-Convention;
    – All related WIPO, EC and other GO, as well as NGO, actions and positions, including the development ot the legislation in

  • Advise to the Bureau:

    Advise the Bureau on the most effective ways to prevent adoption by a Diplomatic Conference of any wording in the Convention opposed by AIPPI, in particular by involving the Groups in the work to be done.

  • Documentation:

    To collect and provide the Bureau with:
    – non-confidential documents of said Special Committee pertaining to article 12(4);
    – all documents of general interest on the subject from whatever reliable source.

  • Reporting:

    Keep the Bureau informed of all work done by Committee Q 153 on a continuous basis.

  • Special Instructions:

    Continuing the amicable personal contacts of the Chairman of Committee Q 153 and his assistant Mr. Sierd J. Schaafsma with the Secretary-General of the Hague Conference, Mr. J.H.A. van Loon

    Obtain official observer-status for AIPPI. On behalf of AIPPI, Mr. Sierd J. Schaafsma attended the Experts Meeting on Intellectual property aspects of the draft Convention, organised by the Hague Conference in Geneva on February 1, 2001.

    Except as otherwise agreed all Reports, Minutes and other documentation are to be submitted to the General Secretariat.

  • Co-Chairman: Annette KUR (Germany)
  • Secretary: Pierre-Louis VéRON (France)
  • Member: Fernand DE VISSCHER (Belgium)
  • Member: Marianne LEVIN (Sweden)
  • Chairman: Constant J.J.C. van Nispen (The Netherlands)
  • Member: Andrew Rich (United Kingdom)
  • Member: Samuel Ricketson (Australia)
  • Member: Y
  • Deputy Reporter General: Dariusz SZLEPER