Standing Committee


Application des droits


  • Scope of Work:

    To monitor, comment and advise AIPPI on policy, legal frameworks and decisions relating to the enforcement of intellectual property rights, including that of:

    • Courts;
    • any other relevant judicial, administrative or regulatory body,

    (the Field).
    To advise the Bureau of:

    • developments in the Field meriting an AIPPI position, including any further study or analysis necessary or desirable to determine an AIPPI position; and
    • possible avenues for cooperation in relation to submissions by governments to the Court of Justice of the EU, and any other policy positions being advanced by governments or NGOs in the Field.

    In particular, investigate and advise the Bureau on current and proposed laws regarding:

    • border interdiction remedies / stopping infringing goods at the border;
    • the effect of oppositions and nullity proceedings on enforcement of intellectual property rights;
    • injunctive relief, including temporary restraining orders, interim / preliminary injunctions and permanent injunctions;
    • monetary damages or accounts of profit; and
    • ADR-centric remedies

    At a policy level, investigate and advise the Bureau on limits and constraints on the enforcement of intellectual property rights, including as imposed by the laws.

    To serve as a resource for AIPPI when positions relevant to the Field are conveyed by AIPPI, including, in the absence of an existing AIPPI position, to formulate a position if requested by the Bureau.

    At the request of the Bureau, submit or represent, or instruct other AIPPI representatives, as to AIPPI’s position in international fora, including meetings of WIPO, WTO and other meetings of GOs and NGOs.

    To co ordinate with other AIPPI committees as specified below.


  • Documentation:
  • Required coordination with other committees::

    Standing Committee on ADR
    Standing Committee on Standards & Patents
    Standing Committee on UP/UPC


  • Chair: Kenneth R. ADAMO (United States of America)
  • Co-Chair: Emily ONEILL (United Kingdom)
  • Secretary: Gustavo DE FREITAS MORAIS (Brazil)
  • Member: Shishir AGARWAL (Independent members)
  • Member: Hakan AKDAG (Turkey)
  • Member: Christof AUGENSTEIN (Germany)
  • Member: Christina BERGGREN (Sweden)
  • Member: Stefania BERGIA (Italy)
  • Member: Riza Ferhan CAGIRGAN (Turkey)
  • Member: Patrick CANTRILL (United Kingdom)
  • Member: Tina CHAPPELL (United States of America)
  • Member: Michael D. CRINSON (Canada)
  • Member: Charles DE HAAS (France)
  • Member: Gerard KELLY (Ireland)
  • Member: Tae Eon KOO (Republic of Korea)
  • Member: Anton KOVAL (Ukraine)
  • Member: Victor LISOVENKO (Russian Federation)
  • Member: Manabu MIYAJIMA (Japan)
  • Member: Mary PADBURY (Australia)
  • Member: Mingo PALACIO (Argentina)
  • Member: Carlos PEREZ DE LA SIERRA (Mexico)
  • Member: Wouter PORS (Netherlands)
  • Member: Cornelis (Kees) SCHüLLER (Switzerland)
  • Member: Tsuyoshi SUEYOSHI (Japan)
  • Member: Andrea VESTITA (Italy)
  • Member: Kristin WHIDBY (United States of America)
  • Member: Yanfeng XIONG (China)
  • Assistant to the Reporter General: Ari LAAKKONEN