Standing Committee, Study Committee

Unitary Patent / Unified Patent Court

Brevet unitaire / Juridiction unifiée des brevets

Einheitliches Patent / einheitliches Patentgericht

  • Scope of Work:

    To monitor, comment and advise AIPPI on policy, regulatory and legal frameworks relating to the Unified Patents Court and Unitary Patent, including the UPC Preparatory Committee and the Select Committees of the EPO responsible for the Unitary Patent.

    (the Field).

    To advise the Bureau of:

    • developments in the Field meriting an AIPPI position, including any further study or analysis  necessary or desirable to determine an AIPPI position;
    • possible avenues for cooperation with GOs and other NGOs in the Field.

    To identify, select and provide to the Bureau key documentation relevant to the Field, including documents issued from the European Commission, Preparatory Committee and EPO.

    To serve as a resource for AIPPI when positions relevant to the Field are conveyed by AIPPI, including, in the absence of an existing AIPPI position, to formulate a position if requested by the Bureau.

    At the request of the Bureau, submit or represent, or instruct other AIPPI representatives, as to AIPPI’s position in international fora, including meetings of WIPO, WTO and other meetings of GOs and NGOs.

  • Documentation:
  • Required coordination with other committees::

    Standing Committee on Standards and Patents
    Standing Committee on ADR
    Standing Committee on Patents

  • Chair: Thierry CALAME (Switzerland)
  • Co-Chair: Christof AUGENSTEIN (Germany)
  • Co-Chair: Annsley WARD (United Kingdom)
  • Secretary: M.g.r. VAN GARDINGEN (Netherlands)
  • Member: Rainer BEETZ (Austria)
  • Member: Hélène CORRET (France)
  • Member: Jacqueline M. DASPIT (United States of America)
  • Member: Gualtiero Luca DRAGOTTI (Italy)
  • Member: Andrés ESTEVA WURTS (Mexico)
  • Member: Kim FINNILä (Finland)
  • Member: Örjan GRUNDéN (Sweden)
  • Member: Michal HAVLIK (Czech Republic)
  • Member: Lori-Ann JOHNSON (United States of America)
  • Member: Alan JOHNSON (United Kingdom)
  • Member: Louise JONSHAMMAR (Sweden)
  • Member: Seong-ki KIM (Republic of Korea)
  • Member: Kaoru KURODA (Japan)
  • Member: Nicolai LINDGREEN (Denmark)
  • Member: Jochen PAGENBERG (Germany)
  • Member: Diego PALLINI GERVASI (Italy)
  • Member: John B. PEGRAM (United States of America)
  • Member: J.C.Sebastian PINCKAERS (Netherlands)
  • Member: Peter-Ulrik PLESNER (Denmark)
  • Member: Cornelis (Kees) SCHüLLER (Switzerland)
  • Member: Thierry SUEUR (France)
  • Member: József TáLAS (Hungary)
  • Assistant Reporter General: Ari LAAKKONEN