Standing Committee

The future of the Patent System in Europe

Le future du système des brevets en Europe

Die Entwicklung des Patentsystems in Europa

Q137 Status: Dissolved Meeting:
  • Main Task:

    To monitor study and advise on issues related to the development of the European Patent Organisation in particular its extension to other countries, the effectiveness of its procedure and the issue of languages. (But excluding patentability – and Q 114 – and the question of cost – Q 139)
    To liaise with Q 114 and Q 139.
    To formulate, and with the approval of the Bureau to submit and represent AIPPI´s standpoint before the European Patent Organisation.

  • Monitoring:

    To monitor:
    – all related EPO activities
    – developments of general interest in the field

  • Advise to the Bureau:

    To advise on:
    – developments in the field rendering intervention of AIPPI desirable
    – issues meriting further study
    – instruction to AIPPI Representatives at GO Meetings
    – possibilities of cooperation with other NGOs

  • Documentation:

    Collect and provide the Bureau with:
    – EPO documentation
    – other documents of general interest on the subject

  • Reporting:

    To provide (in addition to point “Monitoring”):
    – annually 2 months before each international Meeting an account of activities since the last such Meeting (incl. negative Report)
    – within 1 month a written Report on all GO Meetings attended
    – immediately Reports on matters of special interest in the field

  • Special Instructions:

    The Chairman of the Committee shall inform Committee Officers, and in the case of Special Committees the Committee Members, of relevant Committee activities and shall seek, if possible, their advise and cooperation in formulating the Committees views.
    Except as otherwise agreed all Reports, Minutes and other documentation are to be submitted to the General Secretariat.

  • Co-Chairmen: Walter HOLZER (Austria)
  • Secretary: Enrique ARMIJO CHAVARRI (Spain)
  • Chairman: David C. Harrison (Great Britain)
  • Member: Franz Lederer (Germany)
  • Member: Michael N. Meller (USA)
  • Member: Kazuo Sato (Japan)