Standing Committee

Pharma and Biotechnology

Pharma et biotechnologie

Pharma und Biotechnologie

  • Sub-Committee:
  • Scope of Work:

    To monitor, comment and advise AIPPI on policy,
    regulatory and legal frameworks relating to intellectual property protection for:

    •        pharmaceutical products and processes;

    •        diagnostic products;

    •        medical devices; and

    •        biotechnology  (including plant varieties) and biological products , including:

    •        policy initiatives, and proposed regulatory and legislative changes at national and regional levels;

    •        legislation, and regulatory and judicial decisions at national and regional levels; and

    •        the scope of protection under international instruments, eg TRIPs, the International Union for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants (UPOV) Convention and the European Patent Convention, but excluding:

    •        the scope of work of the Standing Committee on IP and genetic resources / traditional knowledge; and

    •        medical devices, other than to the extent this committee may be able to provide expert input should that subject matter be considered within the scope of work of the Standing Committee on Patents,

    (the Field).

    To advise the Bureau of:

    •    developments in the Field meriting an AIPPI position, including any further study or analysis necessary or desirable to determine an AIPPI position;

    •    possible avenues for cooperation with other NGOs in the Field.

    To identify, select and provide to the Bureau key documentation relevant to the Field, including documentation of InterPat and other NGOs in the Field, and documentation of UPOV, and national and regional Patent Offices.

    To serve as a resource for AIPPI when positions relevant to the Field are conveyed by AIPPI including, in the absence of an existing AIPPI position, to formulate a position, if requested by the Bureau.

    At the request of the Bureau, submit or represent, or instruct other AIPPI representatives, as to AIPPI’s position in international fora, including meetings of WIPO, WTO and other meetings of GOs and NGOs.

    To co-ordinate with other AIPPI committees as specified below.

  • Documentation:
  • Required coordination with other committees:

    Standing Committee on Patents (for matters relevant to the Field or where the Field may be relevant to the work of the Standing Committee on Patents)
    Standing Committee on Trademarks (for matters relevant to the Field)

  • Chair: John C. TODARO (United States of America)
  • Co-Chair: Amy FENG (China)
  • Secretary: Duncan RIBBONS (United Kingdom)
  • Member: Orly ALSTER (Israel)
  • Member: Gusztáv BACHER (Hungary)
  • Member: Ezgi BAKLACI (Turkey)
  • Member: Martín BENSADON (Argentina)
  • Member: Cristina BIGGI (Italy)
  • Member: Charles Aaron BOULAKIA (Canada)
  • Member: Hugo CARO (Spain)
  • Member: Hector E. CHAGOYA C. (Mexico)
  • Member: Ma. Sophia Editha C. CRUZ-ABRENICA (Philippines)
  • Member: Magnus DAHLMAN (Sweden)
  • Member: Li FENG (United States of America)
  • Member: Carlos FERNANDEZ DAVILA (Peru)
  • Member: David GILAT (Israel)
  • Member: Sevgi GOKCEK AYGOREN (Turkey)
  • Member: Rana GOSAIN (Brazil)
  • Member: Carolyn HARRIS (Australia)
  • Member: Simon HOLZER (Switzerland)
  • Member: Martin KLOK (Netherlands)
  • Member: Joanna KRAKOWIAK (Poland)
  • Member: Renat KRASNOPEROV (Russian Federation)
  • Member: Andras KUPECZ (Netherlands)
  • Member: Johanna LILJA (Finland)
  • Member: Anja LUNZE (Germany)
  • Member: Ilan MILLER (Israel)
  • Member: Cyra NARGOLWALLA (France)
  • Member: Carlos Reynaldo OLARTE (Colombia)
  • Member: Makoto ONO (Japan)
  • Member: Gaye RAMAZANOGLU (Turkey)
  • Member: Beat RAUBER (Switzerland)
  • Member: Christophe RONSE (Belgium)
  • Member: Nicolas RUIZ VINCENT (Spain)
  • Member: Joseph SCHMITZ (Switzerland)
  • Member: Joseph SNYDER (United States of America)
  • Member: Ran VOGEL (Israel)
  • Assistant Reporter General: Ralph NACK