Standing Committee

Patenting of computer software

Brevetabilité des logiciels d´ordinateur

Patentierung von Computer-Software

  • Main Task:

    To continue the study initiated at the Executive Committee Meeting in Vienna 1997.
    To follow and monitor the development of legislation and jurisprudence on the question of patenting of computer software based inventions.

  • Monitoring:

    To monitor in addition:
    – the development of multinational legislation and harmonisation projects, incl. WIPO, EU and other international GOs
    – major national legislation and jurisprudence

  • Advise Bureau:

    To advise on:
    – developments in the field rendering intervention of AIPPI desirable
    – issues meriting further study
    – continuation of the Q 133 study in accordance with the Resolution of 1997
    – possibilities of cooperation with other NGOs.

  • Documentation:

    Collect and provide the Bureau with:
    – all WTO, EPO, EU and other international GO documentation on the subject (the Bureau receives WIPO documents directly)
    – national documentation of particular interest

  • Reporting:

    To provide (in addition to point 7):
    – annually 2 months before each international Meeting an account of activities since the last such Meeting (incl. negative Report)
    – within 1 month a written Report on all GO Meetings attended
    – immediately Reports on matters of special interest in the field

  • Special Instructions:

    Matters relating to WTO are to be coordinated with Q 94; EPO related matters are to be coordinated with Q 137; WIPO related matters with Q 89.
    The Chairman of the Committee shall inform Committee Officers, and in the case of Special Committees the Committee Members, of relevant Committee activities and shall seek, if possible, their advise and cooperation in formulating the Committees views.
    Except as otherwise agreed all Reports, Minutes and other documentation are to be submitted to the General Secretariat.

  • Chairman: David MERRYLEES (Brazil)
  • Secretary: Thierry MOLLET-VIéVILLE (France)
  • Member: Arno KöRBER (Germany)
  • Co-Chairman: Ronald S. Laurie (USA)
  • Member: Kensuke Norichika (Japan)
  • Member: Jürgen Betten (Germany)
  • Member: Hans Goldrian (Germany)