Standing Committee

IP and Green Technology

PI et technologie verte

Geistiges Eigentum und grüne Technologie

  • Scope of Work:

    To monitor, comment and advise AIPPI on policy, regulatory and legal frameworks relating to protection and licensing of intellectual property in the context of the climate change debate, including:

    • policy initiatives, and proposed regulatory and legislative changes at national and regional levels;
    • legislation, and regulatory and judicial decisions at national and regional levels;
    • the debate about scope of protection under international instruments, eg the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UFCCC) and its appertaining Conferences of the Parties (COP);
    • the empirical basis for the climate change debate as it relates to intellectual property issues,
    • (the Field).
    • To advise the Bureau of:
    • developments in the Field meriting an AIPPI position, including any further study or analysis necessary or desirable to determine an AIPPI position;
    • possible avenues for cooperation with GOs and other NGOs in the Field.

    To identify, select and provide to the Bureau key documentation relevant to the Field, including in particular documentation of the UFCCC/COP .

    To serve as a resource for AIPPI when positions relevant to the Field are conveyed by AIPPI including, in the absence of an existing AIPPI position, to formulate a position if requested by the Bureau.

    At the request of the Bureau, submit or represent, or instruct other AIPPI representatives, as to AIPPI’s position in international fora, including meetings of WIPO, WTO and other meetings of GOs and NGOs.

    To co-ordinate with other AIPPI committees as specified below.

  • Documentation:
  • Required coordination with other committees:

    Standing Committee on Development and Intellectual Property
    Standing Committee on Patents (for matters relevant to the Field)

  • Chair: Guillaume HENRY (France)
  • Co-Chair: Casey Kook-Chan AN (Republic of Korea)
  • Secretary: Natalie RAFFOUL (Canada)
  • Member: Mehmet ATBAN (Turkey)
  • Member: Ursula BARAVALLE (South Africa)
  • Member: Fabio BOSCARIOL DE ROBERTO (Italy)
  • Member: Patricia BUNYE (Philippines)
  • Member: Wen CAO (China)
  • Member: Luis Diego CASTRO CHAVARRíA (CA-Caribbean Regional-Group)
  • Member: Estelle DERCLAYE (United Kingdom)
  • Member: Filippo FERRONI (Italy)
  • Member: Bertram HUBER (Germany)
  • Member: Keiji KONDO (Japan)
  • Member: V. LAKSHMI KUMARAN (India)
  • Member: Francisco Humberto LóPEZ AVILA (Mexico)
  • Member: David MERRYLEES (Brazil)
  • Member: Tamar MORAG-SELA (Israel)
  • Member: Clara NEPPEL (Germany)
  • Member: Alexandre R. T. ODLE (Netherlands)
  • Member: David POSTOLSKI (United States of America)
  • Member: Dilek USTUN EKDIAL (Turkey)
  • Member: Margaret WELSH (United States of America)
  • Member: Marco ZARDI (Switzerland)
  • Member: Alicia ÁLVAREZ DE BERKENWALD (Argentina)
  • Assistant Reporter General: Ralph NACK