Standing Committee

Geographical Indications

Indications géographiques

Geografische Herkunftsangaben

  • Scope of Work:

    To monitor, comment and advise AIPPI on policy and legal frameworks relating to geographical indications, including:

    •    review of policy initiatives and proposed legislative changes;

    •    review of judicial decisions;

    •    monitoring of the geographical indications related agenda and work of (1) WIPO, (2) OHIM and (3) other organisations with a focus on (among other things) geographical indications

    (the Field).

    To advise the Bureau of:

    •    developments in the Field meriting an AIPPI position, including any further study or analysis necessary or desirable to determine an AIPPI position;

    •    possible avenues for cooperation with GOs and other NGOs in the Field.

    To identify, select and provide to the Bureau key documentation relevant to the Field.

    To serve as a resource for AIPPI when positions relevant to the Field are conveyed by AIPPI, including, in the absence of an existing AIPPI position, to formulate a position if requested by the Bureau.

    At the request of the Bureau, submit or represent, or instruct other AIPPI representatives, as to AIPPI’s position in international fora, including meetings of WIPO, WTO and other meetings of GOs and NGOs.

    To co ordinate with other AIPPI committees as specified below.

  • Documentation:
  • Required coordination with other committees:

    Standing Committee on TRIPS
    Standing Committee on Trademark Committee

  • Chair: Giulio Enrico SIRONI (Italy)
  • Co-Chair: Laura COLLADA SALCIDO (Mexico)
  • Secretary: Tom REID (Australia)
  • Member: Dovev APEL (Israel)
  • Member: Frédéric BRAND (Switzerland)
  • Member: Michele Elio DE TULLIO (Italy)
  • Member: Ricardo GORDó LLOBELL (Argentina)
  • Member: Paul HARRIS (United Kingdom)
  • Member: Rudolph P. HOFMANN, JR. (United States of America)
  • Member: Keri JOHNSTON (Canada)
  • Member: Ekin KARAKUS (Turkey)
  • Member: Patrick KOLE (United States of America)
  • Member: GyooHo LEE (Republic of Korea)
  • Member: Sandra LEIS (Brazil)
  • Member: Yuncheng LI (China)
  • Member: Gonçalo Moreira RATO (Portugal)
  • Member: Robert W. SACOFF (United States of America)
  • Member: Volker SCHOENE (Germany)
  • Member: Jürg SIMON (Switzerland)
  • Member: Jean-Pierre STOULS (France)
  • Member: Kurt STöPETIE (Netherlands)
  • Member: Nami TOGAWA (Japan)
  • Member: Alexey M. VAKHNIN (Russian Federation)
  • Member: Emmanuelle VARLOUD-PERAZIO (France)
  • Deputy Reporter General: Anne Marie VERSCHUUR